Managing users and groups

Default user

Upon installation a default user with name admin and password admin is created. It is recommended to log in with these credentials directly after the installation has completed and to change the default password.

User session

After the authentication process, a user session is created. This session will be closed automatically at some point by the server for security reasons. The default session timeout is set to 35 min (see User session timeout configuration for details).

When there is no activity in the browser and the session is about to expire, a warning is displayed next to the user details 3 minutes before before the timeout takes place:

../../_images/session-will-expire-soon.png

One (1) minute before the timeout, another message is displayed:

../../_images/session-about-to-be-cancelled.png

When the session seems to have been destroyed by the catalog, a message recommends to refresh the page and sign in again if needed:

../../_images/session-has-expired.png

Users, Groups and Roles

The catalog uses the concept of Users, Groups and User Profiles.

  • A User can be part of one or more Groups.

  • A User has a Role in a Group.

  • The Administrator Role is not related to a Group.

The combination of Role and Group defines what tasks the User can perform on the system or on specific metadata records.

Users can have different roles in different groups. A role defines what tasks the user can perform.

Roles are hierarchical and based on inheritance. This means that a user with an Editor profile can create and modify new metadata records, but can also use all functions a Registered user can use.

Rights associated with the roles are illustrated in detail in the list below:

  1. Administrator Profile

    The Administrator has special privileges that give access to all available functions.

    These include:

    • Full rights for creating new groups and new users

    • Rights to change users/groups profiles

    • Full rights for creating/editing/deleting new/old metadata

    • Perform system administration and configuration tasks.

  2. User Administrator Profile

    The User Administrator is the administrator of his/her own group with the following privileges:

    • Full rights on creating new users within the own group

    • Rights to change users profiles within the own group

    • Full rights on creating/editing/ deleting new/old data within the own group

  3. Content Reviewer Profile

    The content reviewer is the only person allowed to give final clearance on the metadata publication on the Intranet and/or on the Internet:

    • Rights on reviewing metadata content within the own group and authorising its publication

  4. Editor Profile

    The editor works on metadata with following privileges:

    • Full rights on creating/editing/ deleting new/old data within the own group

  5. Registered User Profile

    The Registered User has more access privileges than non-authenticated Guest users:

    • Right to download protected data